Lewis County Schools

Truancy Laws

Kentucky School Law requires every parent and guardian of a child 6 to 21 years old to send that child to school. Five year olds are considered under the compulsory education after enrollment in Kindergarten.

Kentucky School Law 159.150 states:

Any child who has been absent from school without valid excuse for three (3) or more days, or tardy for three (3) or more days, is a truant. Any child who has been reported as a truant two (2) or more times is an habitual truant.

Kentucky School Law 159.180 states:

Every parent/guardian of a child residing in any school district in this state is legally responsible for any violation of KRS 159.010-159.179 by the child.

Kentucky School Law 159.990 states:

Any parent/guardian who intentionally fails to comply with the requirements of KRS 159.010 to 159.170 shall be fined one hundred dollars ($100) for the first offense, and two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for the second offense. Each subsequent offense shall be classified as a Class B misdemeanor. This determination is at the discretion of the judicial system.

Kentucky Revised Statute 530.070

Unlawful transaction with a minor punishable by a maximum of twelve months in jail and/or $500 fine.

Lewis County Schools Policy states:

Students absent 6 or more days unexcused are considered habitual truants.

Tardies occur if a student arrives late or leaves early. Tardies also occur when students are absent from school for a portion of the day. Tardies are considered in the determination of truancy.
Lewis County Schools
251 Lions Lane, P.O. Box 159, Vanceburg, KY 41179
Phone: 606 796-2811 | Fax: 606 796-3081
Building Futures Through Education
© 2024. Lewis County Schools. All Rights Reserved.
School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website